Our Team

Here you will find an overview of our members and their respective research interests.

Head of Chair

Stefan holds the Chair in Hybrid Nanosystems in the Faculty of Physics of LMU Munich, established 2018.

Prof. Dr. Stefan Maier

Subgroup leaders

Prof. Dr. Leonardo Menezes

Leo leads the subgroup on ultrafast nanophotonics, with a focus on single nanoemitters and photon-phonon energy conversion.

Room: D04.009

Dr. Andreas Tittl

Andreas leads the subgroup on mid-infrared nanophotonics for sensing and spectroscopy.

Room: D01.012

Dr. Fritz Keilmann

Fritz leads the subgroup on biology applications of infrared nanoscopy.

Administrative and technical support

Denise Wedemeyer

Denise Wedemeyer provides us with administrative and secretarial support.

Room: D03.008

Reinhold Rath

Reinhold Rath supports our clean room and general lab facilities, and is also in charge of safety.

Room: D03.010

Namvar Jahanmehr

Namvar Jahanmehr supports nanofabrication process development and our chemical lab.

Room: D03.010


Dr. Bhattacharya Angana

Angana develops metasurfaces applicable in neuromorphic imaging and studies their tunability for mid infra-red applications.

Room: D04.010

Dr. Alexander Berestennikov

Alexander's research is related to the study of the optical properties of hybrid metasurfaces.

Room: D01.013

Dr. Wenzheng Lu

Wenzheng is working on active modulation of photonic metasurfaces and their applications in optical devices.

Room: D04.010

Dr. Anil Kumar Pal

Anil researches surface-enhanced Raman scattering biosensors for the early diagnosis of blood cancer.

Room: D04.010

Dr. Luca Sortino

Luca studies the integration of excitonic 2D semiconductors with plasmonic and dielectric hybrid nano-photonic structures.

Room: D04.009

PhD students

Andreas Aigner

Andreas researches applications of optical metasurfaces.

Room: D03.013

Enrico Baù

Enrico studies semiconductor integrated photonic circuits and in-liquid biosensing using near-field optical microscopy.

Room: D01.014

Luca Berger

Luca investigates the nanophotonic electrochemical platform for SEIRA in the context of clean hydrogen generation.

Room: D03.013

Jonas Biechteler

Jonas investigates the integration of 2D materials and their heterostructures with dielectric nanocavities.

Room: D01.013

Johannes Bürger

Johannes investigates photonic light cages for surface enhanced spectroscopies.

Room: D03.013

Jiaqi Chen

Jiaqi investigates light propagation in alternative nonreciprocal media, with a focus on Förster resonance energy transfer.

Room: D04.016

Thorsten Gölz

Thorsten is developing methods for performing biospectroscopy on living cells with sSNOM.

Room: D01.014

Dmytro Gryb

Dmytro studies chiral metasurfaces, as well as metasurfaces for structural light applications.

Room: D03.015

Haiyang Hu

Haiyang researches TiO2-based all-dielectric metasurfaces for energy conversion and molecular detection

Room: D01.013

Tao Jiang

Tao's research focuses on the application of metasurface-enhanced spectroscopy.

Room: D03.013

Chenhao Li

Chenhao obtained an LMU-CSC Scholarship to study phase-change nanophotonics.

Room: D03.013

Thomas Possmayer

Thomas is working on single photon emitters in 2D materials integrated in nanophotonic structures.

Room: D03.05

Thomas Weber

Thomas studies metasurfaces for biospectroscopy in the mid-infrared.

Room: D01.013

Xingye Yang

Xingye is working on tunable and waveguide coupled BIC based metamaterials.

Room: D03.05

MSc students

Connor Heimig

Connor investigates new mechanisms in light-matter interaction in metasurfaces driven by bound states in the continuum.

Room: D01.014

Michael Hirler

Michael develops novel concepts for metasurfaces based on photonic bound states in the continuum.

Room: D01.014

Lina Rohrer

Lina is working on biosensing in biomimetic membrane systems with BIC metasurfaces.

Room: D03.05

Levin Seidt

Levin is working on second harmonic generation with controllable polarization in layered transition metal dichalcogenides.

Room: D04.16

Markus Stein

Markus is working with structured light spectroscopy.

Room: D04.16

Yunshan Wang

Yunshan develops a highly sensitive technique to measure nonlinear refraction and nonlinear absorption of monolayers.

Room: D04.16

Visiting researchers

Prof. Dr. Andres Marquez

Andres is a professor at the University of Alicante (Spain), on a sabatical working on wavefront engineering with metasurfaces.

Room: D03.011

Prof. Dr. Felipe Pinheiro

Felipe is a professor at the University of Rio de Janeiro investigating nonreciprocal light and chirality in our chair.

Room: D04.009

External lab users

Demiralp Berke

Demiralp is a visitor from TUM.

Run Fa Jonny Qiu

Jonny is a visitor from TUM.