Program Counseling & Contact

At the Faculty of Physics, various contact persons are available to answer your questions about studying physics.

Program Counseling

  • Dr. Sabine Irlbeck
  • Dr. Marlene Musazay
  • Dr. Jana Traupel

E-Mail: Program Counseling

Consultation hours (by telephone, online or in person) by appointment by e-mail

The programme is coordinated by the Technical University of Munich. Please visit the QST programme website.

  • Physics: Dr. Sabine Irlbeck, Dr. Jana Traupel, Dr. Marlene Musazay
E-Mail: Program Counseling

Consultation hours (by telephone, online or in person) by appointment by e-mail

Contacts at the Faculty of Physics

The Dean of Studies is responsible for the organisation of the courses offered in accordance with the examination and study regulations of the Faculty of Physics. He ensures that the physics studies can be properly carried out in all courses within the standard period of studies and that the students and prospective students are adequately advised and supervised.

Dean of Studies: Prof. Dr. Jochen Weller

Physics Examination Office

The Physics Examination Office is responsible for all degree programmes of the Faculty of Physics excluding the elite Master's programme Theoretical and Mathematical Physics (TMP) and the MSc Quantum Science & Technology (QST). You can find your contact person here.

Contact person Elite-Mastercourse TMP and MSc QST

Chairmen of the examination committees

  • Prof. Dr. Otmar Biebel: Chairman Examination Committee: BSc Physics, BSc Physics extended minor Meteorology, MSc Physics, Diplom Physics, Minor in Physics, Minor in Theoretical Physics, Minor in Experimental Physics
  • Prof. Dr. Jochen Kuhn: Chairman Examination Committee: Lehramtsstudiengänge der Physik (Unterrichtsfach, Didaktikfach, Erweiterungsfach Physik)
  • Prof. Dr. Bernhard Mayer: Chairman Examination Committee: MSc Meteorology, Minor in Meteorology
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Preibisch: Chairman Examination Committee: MSc Astrophysics
  • Prof. Dr. Ilka Brunner: Chairwoman Examination Committee: MSc Theoretical and Mathematical Physics

The Academic Affairs team coordinates the study programmes of the Faculty of Physics. We ensure that studies in the various degree programmes are conducted according to the study regulations, develop additional offers that complement the physics studies at our faculty and support pupils who are interested in studying physics at the LMU.

Your contacts:

Dr. Markus Reiserer (Head)

Inge Wiedemann-Thies (Office, LSF Course Catalogue, Room Planning)

Dr. Sabine Irlbeck (Digital Teaching, Extrecurricular events, PSRC, Career Workshops)

Dr. Jana Traupel (Contact for pupils before they start their studies)

Thomas Angermeier (International affirs)

Contact: Thomas Angermeier


Tel.: 0049 (0)89 2180 2470

Consulting by appointment

Related Links
Ways abroad for LMU Physics Student
As an International Physics Exchange Student at LMU


Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
Fachschaft Physics
Room B 038
Theresienstraße 39

D-80333 Munich

Phone: + 49 (0)89 2180-4382
Fax: + 49 (0)89 2180-4391


The "Gruppe Aktiver FachschafterInnen (GAF)" is a students organization that supports students in adminstrative and academic matters. Members of the GAF are elected by all physics students.

Contacts at LMU

The Central Student Advisory Office is your first point of contact for any questions you might have about studying at LMU — whether you're trying to choose a program, in the middle of a degree or about to graduate.

Further information can be found here.

The International Office provides a wide range of services for students, faculties, and scientists, as well as partner universities.

Further information can be found here.

The Study Information Service (SIS) answers your telephone inquiries on issues concerning your studies. They can also arrange a personal consultation appointment with the Central Student Advisory Office.

Further information can be found here.

What are you looking for?